Buy. Read. Collect.

UK's largest specialist in first edition, signed books. Located in
the world famous Cecil Court.


Join Our Mailing List

Privacy by SafeSubscribe TM

Book Details

A Close Run Thing

Signed by the author

£400.00

A Close Run Thing

Author: Allan Mallinson

Price: £400.00

Published by: Bantam Press

Date Available: 04 March 1999

All of our books have clear protective, removable film on the dustwrapper and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition

 

Details

 

Synopsis

 

Waterloo, 1815. As the war against Bonaparte rages to its bloody end upon the field of Waterloo, a young officer goes about his duty in the ranks of Wellington’s army. He is Cornet Matthew Hervey of the 6th Light Dragoons – a soldier, gentleman and man of honour, who suddenly finds himself allotted a hero’s role …

‘Now at last a highly literate, deeply read cavalry officer of high rank shows one the nature of horse-borne warfare in those times: A Close Run Thing is very much to be welcomed’ Patrick O’Brian.

 

About the Author

Allan Mallinson was a serving cavalry officer. He is also the author of Light Dragoons, a history of four regiments of British Cavalry, one of which he commanded, and a regular reviewer for The Times, the Spectator and the Literary Review. His Matthew Hervey novels are Sunday Times bestsellers and are all available in Bantam paperback.

This book has some foxing to the top of the page block and some slight discolouration due to age.

Additional Information

Cover Type: Hardback

ISBN: 9780593043738

Also from this Author

1914: Fight the Good Fight: Britain, the Army and the Coming of the First World War

1914: Fight the Good Fight: Britain, the Army and the Coming of the First World War

A Call to Arms

A Call to Arms

An Act of Courage

An Act of Courage

Rumours of War

Rumours of War

Company Of Spears

Company Of Spears

The Sabre's Edge

The Sabre's Edge

People who ordered this also ordered...

Skull and Bones - Signed, Lined and Dated

Skull and Bones - Signed, Lined and Dated

Warrior of Rome III: Lion of the Sun

Warrior of Rome III: Lion of the Sun

Hart of Empire

Hart of Empire

Perdition

Perdition

Hawk Quest - DECEMBER 2011 BOOK OF THE MONTH

Hawk Quest - DECEMBER 2011 BOOK OF THE MONTH

 
Coming soon
Top Sellers
The Licence of War, V.C. Letemendia, signed first edition

UK First Edition / First Printing

Signed by the author

£16.99

The Licence of War

by V.C. Letemendia

 

Synopsis

This second thrilling novel featuring Laurence Beaumont, the seductive, sardonic protagonist introduced in The Best of Men, blen ... read more

 

Release 03 June 2014

Publisher Jonathan Cape

ISBN 978-0224089395

Barbarians, Tim Glencross, signed first edition

Signed by the author

UK First Edition / First Printing

£14.99

Barbarians

by Tim Glencross

 

Synopsis

It is 2008, late capitalism is in crisis, and the great and the good are gathered at an Islington house party. Hosting proceedings are waspish ... read more

 

Release 22 May 2014

Publisher John Murray

ISBN 978-1444788525

Fallout, Sadie Jones, signed first edition

Signed by the author

UK First Edition / First Printing

£14.99

Fallout

by Sadie Jones

 

Synopsis

Luke is a young playwright: intense, magnetic and hungry for experience. Fleeing a disastrous upbringing in the North East he arrives in L ... read more

 

Release 01 May 2014

Publisher Chatto & Windus

ISBN 978-0701188504

Coming Soon
Top Sellers
The War of the Dragon Lady

UK First Edition / First Printing

Signed & Dated by the author.

£19.99

The War of the Dragon Lady - SIGNED & PRE-PUBLICATION DATED

by John Wilcox

 

Synopsis

Description: The year is 1900 and China is plunged into barbaric chaos. The Boxers, a cult of young peasants who blame the foreign barbarians l... read more

 

Release 24 January 2012

Publisher Allison and Busby Publishers

ISBN 9780749010034

Gabriel's Clock

UK First Edition / First Printing

Signed by the author

£12.99

Gabriel's Clock - SIGNED & PUBLICATION DATED

by Hilton Pashley

 

Synopsis

An exciting new fantasy voice - perfect for fans of Jonathan Stroud.   Jonathan is in terrible danger. After his home is attacked b... read more

 

Release 03 October 2013

Publisher Andersen Press

ISBN 978-1849395786

The Black Eyed Blonde: A Philip Marlowe Novel, Benjamin Black, signed fist edition

UK First Edition / First Printing

Signed by the author

£16.99

The Black Eyed Blonde: A Philip Marlowe Novel

by Benjamin Black

 

Synopsis

Maybe it was time I forgot about Nico Peterson, and his sister, and the Cahuilla Club, and Clare Cavendish. Clare? The rest would be easy to put... read more

 

Release 21 March 2014

Publisher Macmillan

ISBN 978-1447236689

We accept Maestro We accept Mastercard We accept Solo We accept Visa We accept Visa Electron We accept PayPal
  • ©2014. Goldsboro Books Ltd. All rights reserved. | Website design by Empire Elements Ltd.