Buy. Read. Collect.

UK's largest specialist in first edition, signed books. Located in
the world famous Cecil Court.


Join Our Mailing List

Privacy by SafeSubscribe TM

Book Details

A Sport of Nature

UK First Edition / First Printing

Signed by the author

£35.50

A Sport of Nature

Author: Nadine Gordimer

Price: £35.50

out of stock

Published by: Jonathan Cape

Date Available: 02 April 1987

All of our books have clear protective, removable film on the dustwrapper and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition

 

Details

 

Synopsis

 

Another of Gordimer's fine, incisive novels that wraps moral and political struggle in elegantly spun incident and luminous prose. Here, 30 tumultuous African years whirl around the life of a young white woman who's an (arguably) innocent foil for a continent's torments and desires. It's the late 1950's and adolescent Hillela, freshly expelled from boarding school, is taken to the Johannesburg home of her liberal Aunt Pauline. The self-possessed Hillela doesn't go in for the spoon-fed social activism her aunt prescribes, but the family puts up with her till she's caught in bed with her cousin Sasha; after this, no one protests when she takes off. She turns up at an ANC exile community in East Africa, where she careens from man to man, a girlfriend without a cause. She has an apolitical ripeness that inspires one promoter after another to take her up; when a brighter star presents himself, she moves on. Then she meets Whaila Kgomani, from whom she learns the politics of liberation. Together, they have a child, whom they name for Mandela's wife; Hillela is delighted the child is black. When Whaila's assassinated, Hillela travels for the cause - to Eastern Europe, New York, and eventually back to Africa where, with characteristic sureness, she takes up with a black nationalist general who's quick to conquer back his nation.
 
PLEASE NOTE: There is a previous owner's dedication on the front end paper. The dust jacket has some shelfwear.

Additional Information

Cover Type: Hardback

ISBN: 9780224024471

 
Coming soon
Top Sellers
Sisters of Treason, Elizabeth Fremantle, signed first edition

UK First Edition / First Printing

Signed by the author

£14.99

Sisters of Treason

by Elizabeth Fremantle

 

Synopsis

Sisters of Treason is a powerful and moving story of passion and peril in Tudor England, perfect for fans of Hilary Mantel.   Mary ... read more

 

Release 22 May 2014

Publisher Michael Joseph

ISBN 978-0718177089

The Crimson Campaign: Book 2 in The Powder Mage Trilogy, Brian McClellan, signed first edition

UK First Edition / First Printing

Signed by the author

£16.99

The Crimson Campaign: Book 2 in The Powder Mage Trilogy

by Brian McClellan

 

Synopsis

'The hounds at our heels will soon know we are lions.'   Tamas's invasion of Kez ends in di ... read more

 

Release 06 May 2014

Publisher Orbit

ISBN 978-0356502021

Wolf, Mo Hayder, signed first edition

UK First Edition / First Printing

Signed by the author

£12.99

Wolf

by Mo Hayder

 

Synopsis

I believe, from what I can hear, that either my daughter or my wife has just been attacked. I don't know the outcome. The ho ... read more

 

Release 24 April 2014

Publisher Bantam Press

ISBN 978-0593068182

Coming Soon
Top Sellers
The Summer of Dead Toys

UK First Edition / First Printing

Signed by the author

£14.99

The Summer of Dead Toys - JULY 2012 BOOK OF THE MONTH

by Antonio Hill

 

Synopsis

International crime fiction set in Barcelona, introducing Inspector Hector Salgado, whose problematic personal life threatens to destroy his car... read more

 

Release 01 July 2012

Publisher Doubleday

ISBN 9780857521125

The Sentinel

UK First Edition / First Printing

Signed & Dated by the author.

£17.99

The Sentinel - OCTOBER 2012 BOOK OF THE MONTH

by Mark Oldfield

 

Synopsis

Madrid, winter 1953: the snow lies thick on the ground and Comandante Guzman of the Brigada Especial is preparing a dawn raid. His job is to hun... read more

 

Release 01 October 2012

Publisher Head of Zeus

ISBN 978-1908800183

The Dynamite Room, Jason Hewitt, signed first edition

UK First Edition / First Printing

Signed & Dated by the author.

£12.99

The Dynamite Room - April 2014 Book of the Month

by Jason Hewitt

 

Synopsis

July 1940. 11 year-old Lydia walks through a village in rural Suffolk on a baking hot day. She is wearing a gas mask. The shops and houses are e... read more

 

Release 01 April 2014

Publisher Simon & Schuster

ISBN 978-1471127403

We accept Maestro We accept Mastercard We accept Solo We accept Visa We accept Visa Electron We accept PayPal
  • ©2014. Goldsboro Books Ltd. All rights reserved. | Website design by Empire Elements Ltd.