Buy. Read. Collect.

UK's largest specialist in first edition, signed books. Located in
the world famous Cecil Court.


Join Our Mailing List

Privacy by SafeSubscribe TM

Book Details

Bring up the Bodies + Promotional postcard -  MAN BOOKER 2012 WINNER

UK First Edition / First Printing

Signed by the author

£89.99

Bring up the Bodies + Promotional postcard - MAN BOOKER 2012 WINNER

Author: Hilary Mantel

Price: £89.99

out of stock

Published by: Fourth Estate

Date Available: 22 June 2012

All of our books have clear protective, removable film on the dustwrapper and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition

 

Details

 

Synopsis

 

The sequel to the Man Booker-winning Wolf Hall.

‘My boy Thomas, give him a dirty look and he’ll gouge your eye out. Trip him, and he’ll cut off your leg,’ says Walter Cromwell in the year 1500. ‘But if you don’t cut across him he’s a very gentleman. And he’ll stand anyone a drink.’

By 1535 Thomas Cromwell, the blacksmith’s son, is far from his humble origins. Chief Minister to Henry VIII, his fortunes have risen with those of Anne Boleyn, Henry’s second wife, for whose sake Henry has broken with Rome and created his own church. But Henry’s actions have forced England into dangerous isolation, and Anne has failed to do what she promised: bear a son to secure the Tudor line. When Henry visits Wolf Hall, Cromwell watches as Henry falls in love with the silent, plain Jane Seymour. The minister sees what is at stake: not just the king’s pleasure, but the safety of the nation. As he eases a way through the sexual politics of the court, its miasma of gossip, he must negotiate a ‘truth’ that will satisfy Henry and secure his own career. But neither minister nor king will emerge undamaged from the bloody theatre of Anne’s final days.

In ‘Bring up the Bodies’, sequel to the Man Booker Prize-winning ‘Wolf Hall’, Hilary Mantel explores one of the most mystifying and frightening episodes in English history: the destruction of Anne Boleyn. From history’s darkroom, this novel offers a speaking picture to the modern world, a vision of Tudor England so recognizable it defies archaism. It is the work of one of our great writers at the height of her powers.

Additional Information

Cover Type: Hardback

ISBN: 978-0007315093

Also from this Author

Wolf Hall

Wolf Hall

Bring up the Bodies + PROMOTIONAL POSTCARD

Bring up the Bodies + PROMOTIONAL POSTCARD

People who ordered this also ordered...

Heartstone

Heartstone

Stranger's Child - Exclusive Signed Slipcase Edition (500) - LONGLISTED FOR MAN BOOKER 2011

Stranger's Child - Exclusive Signed Slipcase Edition (500) - LONGLISTED FOR MAN BOOKER 2011

At Last

At Last

The Happy Hoofer

The Happy Hoofer

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry - Exclusive  Numbered Slipcase Edition - MARCH 2012 BOOK OF THE MONTH

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry - Exclusive Numbered Slipcase Edition - MARCH 2012 BOOK OF THE MONTH

Signs of LIfe - Exclusive Signed & Numbered Limited Edition - APRIL 2012 BOOK OF THE MONTH

Signs of LIfe - Exclusive Signed & Numbered Limited Edition - APRIL 2012 BOOK OF THE MONTH

The English Monster - FEBRUARY 2012 BOOK OF THE MONTH

The English Monster - FEBRUARY 2012 BOOK OF THE MONTH

Song of Achilles - Special Edition (500 numbered copies with gold-edged pages) - The winner of the Oranze prize 2012

Song of Achilles - Special Edition (500 numbered copies with gold-edged pages) - The winner of the Oranze prize 2012

Toby's Room - Exclusive signed copy

Toby's Room - Exclusive signed copy

Dominion

Dominion

A Delicate Truth

A Delicate Truth

Bellman and Black - November Book of the Month. Exclusive Slipcase Edition (500)

Bellman and Black - November Book of the Month. Exclusive Slipcase Edition (500)

An Officer and a Spy

An Officer and a Spy

Frog Music

Frog Music

Road Ends

Road Ends

The House of Silk - The New Sherlock Holmes (Exclusive 250 Numbered Copies)

The House of Silk - The New Sherlock Holmes (Exclusive 250 Numbered Copies)

All That I Am - SIGNED, LINED & DATED

All That I Am - SIGNED, LINED & DATED

The Twelve (Passage 2) - NUMBERED EDITION WITH BRONZED EDGES EXCLUSIVE TO GOLDSBORO BOOKS

The Twelve (Passage 2) - NUMBERED EDITION WITH BRONZED EDGES EXCLUSIVE TO GOLDSBORO BOOKS

 
Coming soon
Top Sellers
The Bones Beneath, Mark Billingham, signed first edition

UK First Edition / First Printing

Signed by the author

£18.99

The Bones Beneath

by Mark Billingham

 

Synopsis

The Deal Tom Thorne is back in charge - but there's a terrifying price to pay. Stuart Nicklin, the most dangerous psychopath he has eve ... read more

 

Release 22 May 2014

Publisher Little, Brown

ISBN 978-1408704790

A Dark and Twisted Tide, Sharon Bolton, signed first edition

UK First Edition / First Printing

Signed by the author

£12.99

A Dark and Twisted Tide

by Sharon Bolton

 

Synopsis

Ex-Detective Lacey Flint has quit the police for a safer, quieter life. Or that's what she thinks.   ... read more

 

Release 08 May 2014

Publisher Bantam Press

ISBN 978-0593069189

Her, Harriet Lane, signed first edition

Signed by the author

UK First Edition / First Printing

£12.99

Her

by Harriet Lane

 

Synopsis

Two women; two different worlds. Emma is a struggling mother who has put everything on hold. Nina is sophisticated and independent - entirely i ... read more

 

Release 12 June 2014

Publisher Weidenfeld Nicolson

ISBN 978-0297865056

Coming Soon
Top Sellers
Waiting for Sunrise

UK First Edition / First Printing

Signed by the author

£29.99

Waiting for Sunrise

by William Boyd

 

Synopsis

Vienna. 1913. It is a fine day in August when Lysander Rief, a young English actor, walks through the city to his first appointment with the emi... read more

 

Release 16 February 2012

Publisher Bloomsbury

ISBN 978-1408817742

The Daylight War The Daylight War (Demon Trilogy 3), Peter V. Brett, signed first edition

UK First Edition / First Printing

Signed by the author

£49.99

The Daylight War - Signed, Stamped & Numbered ' Inevera Avatar' Edition

by Peter V. Brett

 

Synopsis

Continuing the impressive debut fantasy series from author Peter V. Brett, The DAYLIGHT WAR is book three of the Demon Cycle, pul... read more

 

Release 28 February 2013

Publisher Harper Collins

ISBN 978-000727619L

Gabriel's Clock

UK First Edition / First Printing

Signed by the author

£12.99

Gabriel's Clock - SIGNED & PUBLICATION DATED

by Hilton Pashley

 

Synopsis

An exciting new fantasy voice - perfect for fans of Jonathan Stroud.   Jonathan is in terrible danger. After his home is attacked b... read more

 

Release 03 October 2013

Publisher Andersen Press

ISBN 978-1849395786

We accept Maestro We accept Mastercard We accept Solo We accept Visa We accept Visa Electron We accept PayPal
  • ©2014. Goldsboro Books Ltd. All rights reserved. | Website design by Empire Elements Ltd.