Buy. Read. Collect.

UK's largest specialist in first edition, signed books. Located in
the world famous Cecil Court.


Join Our Mailing List

Privacy by SafeSubscribe TM

Book Details

Agatha Christie's Murder in the Making: Stories and Secrets from Her Archive - includes an unseen Miss Marple story

UK First Edition / First Printing

Signed & Dated by the author.

£45.00

Agatha Christie's Murder in the Making: Stories and Secrets from Her Archive - includes an unseen Miss Marple story

Author: John Curran

Price: £45.00

out of stock

Published by: Harper Collins

Date Available: 01 September 2011

All of our books have clear protective, removable film on the dustwrapper and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition

 

Details

 

Synopsis

 

SIGNED & PUBLICATION DATED

Agatha Christie’s life and career told through the decades, from the never-before-published original ending to her first book to the unused ideas for her last, complete with two unpublished Agatha Christie stories - including a lost Miss Marple.

In this follow-up volume to the acclaimed Agatha Christie's Secret Notebooks, Christie archivist and expert John Curran leads the reader through the six decades of Agatha Christie's writing career, unearthing some remarkable clues to her success and a number of never-before-published excerpts and stories from her archives.

Starting his investigation in the 1920s, John Curran examines the conventions of detective novels as they existed then and how Agatha Christie's publisher talked her into changing the ending of her very first book, The Mysterious Affair at Styles, a move that almost certainly changed the fortunes of not only her career but the future of the whole crime writing genre. For the very first time, this book prints Agatha's original ending, painstakingly transcribed from her notebooks.

Every decade saw Agatha Christie's success grow to new heights. The emergence of the world-famous Collins Crime Club in 1930 brought with it the very first Miss Marple mystery, the austerity of the 1940s had Agatha Christie preparing to kill off Hercule Poirot, and the 1950s saw her experiment increasingly with formats influenced by more modern thrillers. Focusing on the detail of more than 20 Christie novels to illustrate this, John Curran shows the evolution of Agatha's writing through the decades, including the influence of the swinging sixties and seventies, concluding the book with a look at Agatha's last notebook, using his Christie knowledge to speculate about what she had in mind based on her brief notes for an unwritten final book.

Also includes a number of short stories from the archives reproduced in full, including the unpublished The Man Who Knew, How I Created Hercule Poirot, and an early draft for a Miss Marple story, The Case of the Caretaker's Wife.

Additional Information

Cover Type: Hardback

ISBN: 978-0007396764

Also from this Author

Agatha Christie's Secret Notebooks: Fifty Years of Mysteries in the Making

Agatha Christie's Secret Notebooks: Fifty Years of Mysteries in the Making

People who ordered this also ordered...

The Fort

The Fort

Death on the Marais

Death on the Marais

I Am Number Four -  Signed, Numbered & Slipcase Edition - Exclusive to Goldsboro Books

I Am Number Four - Signed, Numbered & Slipcase Edition - Exclusive to Goldsboro Books

Hart of Empire - 250 Exclusive Numbered Edition

Hart of Empire - 250 Exclusive Numbered Edition

Artemis Fowl and the Atlantis Complex

Artemis Fowl and the Atlantis Complex

Young Sherlock Holmes 2: Red Leech - Goldsboro Exclusive Hardback

Young Sherlock Holmes 2: Red Leech - Goldsboro Exclusive Hardback

The Cobra

The Cobra

The Herring in the Library

The Herring in the Library

Annexed

Annexed

Three Seconds

Three Seconds

FROZEN MOMENT, Signed, lined & dated UK 1st edition

FROZEN MOMENT, Signed, lined & dated UK 1st edition

15 Miles

15 Miles

Saints of New York

Saints of New York

Before I Go To Sleep - MAY 2011 BOOK OF THE MONTH - EXCLUSIVE GOLD EDGED EDITION

Before I Go To Sleep - MAY 2011 BOOK OF THE MONTH - EXCLUSIVE GOLD EDGED EDITION

The Case of the Man who Died Laughing

The Case of the Man who Died Laughing

A Red Herring Without Mustard

A Red Herring Without Mustard

Pulse

Pulse

Black Ice - Young Sherlock Holmes - Goldsboro Exclusive Numbered hardback (500)

Black Ice - Young Sherlock Holmes - Goldsboro Exclusive Numbered hardback (500)

 
Coming soon
Top Sellers
Gift Voucher £25

£25.00

Gift Voucher £25

by Goldsboro Books

 

Synopsis

Gift vouchers are valid for 6 months from the day of purchase.  read more

 

Release 01 July 2015

Publisher Goldsboro Books

ISBN Gift Voucher £25

Matchbox Theatre: Thirty Short Entertainments, Michael Frayn, signed first edition

UK First Edition / First Printing

Signed by the author

£12.99

Matchbox Theatre: Thirty Short Entertainments

by Michael Frayn

 

Synopsis

Matchbox Theatre presents a miniature sketch show: thirty dialogues and monologues by Michael Frayn, to be played in the smallest theatre ... read more

 

Release 13 November 2014

Publisher Faber & Faber

ISBN 978-0571313938

Written in the Blood, Stephen Lloyd Jones, signed first edition

Signed by the author

UK First Edition / First Printing

£18.99

Written in the Blood

by Stephen Lloyd Jones

 

Synopsis

High in the mountains of the Swiss Alps Leah Wilde is about to gamble her life to bring a powerful man an offer. A promise.   Leah ... read more

 

Release 13 November 2014

Publisher Headline

ISBN 978-1472204707

Coming Soon
Top Sellers
Death on the Marais

Signed, Lined & Dated

UK First Edition / First Printing

£19.99

Death on the Marais

by Adrian Magson

 

Synopsis

FIRST IN A BRAND NEW SERIES. France, 1963. On his first day in the village of Poissons-Les-Marais, the last thing Inspector Lucas Rocco expe... read more

 

Release 09 September 2010

Publisher Allison and Busby Publishers

ISBN 978-0749008345

Gabriel's Clock

UK First Edition / First Printing

Signed by the author

£12.99

Gabriel's Clock - SIGNED & PUBLICATION DATED

by Hilton Pashley

 

Synopsis

An exciting new fantasy voice - perfect for fans of Jonathan Stroud.   Jonathan is in terrible danger. After his home is attacked b... read more

 

Release 03 October 2013

Publisher Andersen Press

ISBN 978-1849395786

Personal (Jack Reacher 19)

UK First Edition / First Printing

Signed by the author

£20.00

Personal (Jack Reacher 19)

by Lee Child

 

Synopsis

Jack Reacher walks alone. Once a go-to hard man in the US military police, now he's a drifter of no fixed abode. But the army tracks him dow... read more

 

Release 25 September 2014

Publisher Bantam Press

ISBN 978-0593073827

We accept Maestro We accept Mastercard We accept Solo We accept Visa We accept Visa Electron We accept PayPal
  • ©2014. Goldsboro Books Ltd. All rights reserved. | Website design by Empire Elements Ltd.