Buy. Read. Collect.

UK's largest specialist in first edition, signed books. Located in
the world famous Cecil Court.


Join Our Mailing List

Privacy by SafeSubscribe TM

Book Details

The Daughters of Mars

UK First Edition / First Printing

Signed by the author

£24.99

The Daughters of Mars

Author: Thomas Keneally

Price: £24.99

out of stock

Published by: Sceptre

Date Available: 25 October 2012

All of our books have clear protective, removable film on the dustwrapper and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition

 

Details

 

Synopsis

 

In 1915, two spirited Australian sisters join the war effort as nurses, escaping the confines of their father's dairy farm and carrying a guilty secret with them. Used to tending the sick as they are, nothing could have prepared them for what they confront, first in the Dardanelles, then on the Western Front.

Yet amid the carnage, Naomi and Sally Durance become the friends they never were at home and find themselves courageous in the face of extreme danger, as well as the hostility they encounter from some on their own side. There is great bravery, humour and compassion, too, and the inspiring example of some remarkable women. And in France, where Naomi nurses in a hospital set up by the eccentric Lady Tarlton while Sally works in a casualty clearing station, each meets an exceptional man: the kind of men for whom they might give up some of their precious independence - if only they all survive.

At once vast in scope and extraordinarily intimate, The Daughters of Mars brings the First World War to vivid, concrete life from an unusual perspective. A searing and profoundly moving tale, it pays tribute to the men and women who voluntarily risked their lives for peace.

Additional Information

Cover Type: Hardback

ISBN: 978-0340951873

Also from this Author

A Family Madness

A Family Madness

Flying Hero Class

Flying Hero Class

The Cut-Rate Kingdom

The Cut-Rate Kingdom

The Fear - Australian First Edition

The Fear - Australian First Edition

Schindler's Ark

Schindler's Ark

A Victim of the Aurora

A Victim of the Aurora

People who ordered this also ordered...

The Street Philosopher

The Street Philosopher

15 Miles

15 Miles

The Death Instinct

The Death Instinct

Red Runs the Helmand - SIGNED, LINED & DATED

Red Runs the Helmand - SIGNED, LINED & DATED

Martyr

Martyr

The Burning Sky

The Burning Sky

Only Time Will Tell: Clifton Chronicles (Volume 1)

Only Time Will Tell: Clifton Chronicles (Volume 1)

River of Smoke

River of Smoke

Mistress of My Fate

Mistress of My Fate

The Sense of an Ending - MAN BOOKER WINNER 2011

The Sense of an Ending - MAN BOOKER WINNER 2011

A Broken Land

A Broken Land

The War of the Dragon Lady - SIGNED & PRE-PUBLICATION DATED

The War of the Dragon Lady - SIGNED & PRE-PUBLICATION DATED

HHhH - MAY 2012 BOOK OF THE MONTH

HHhH - MAY 2012 BOOK OF THE MONTH

Armada - SIGNED, LINED & PUBLICATION DATED

Armada - SIGNED, LINED & PUBLICATION DATED

The Sins of the Father (Clifton Chronicles 2)

The Sins of the Father (Clifton Chronicles 2)

Waiting for Sunrise

Waiting for Sunrise

The Lifeboat

The Lifeboat

The Secret Life of William Shakespeare

The Secret Life of William Shakespeare

 
Coming soon
Top Sellers
A Cruel Necessity (A John Grey Historical Mystery)

Signed, Lined & Dated

UK First Edition / First Printing

£19.99

A Cruel Necessity (A John Grey Historical Mystery) - Book of the Month November 2014

by L. C. Tyler

 

Synopsis

The superb first book in the John Grey Mysteries.   The theatres are padlocked. Christmas has been cancelled. It is 1657 and ... read more

 

Release 06 November 2014

Publisher Constable

ISBN 9781472115034

The Burning Room, Michael Connelly, signed first edition

Signed by the author

UK First Edition / First Printing

£26.99

The Burning Room

by Michael Connelly

 

Synopsis

In the LAPD's Open-Unsolved Unit, not many murder victims die almost a decade after the crime. So when a man succumbs to complications from ... read more

 

Release 05 December 2014

Publisher Orion

ISBN 978-1409145516

The Slow Regard of Silent Things: A Kingkiller Chronicle Novella, Patrick Rothfuss, signed first edition

Signed by the author

UK First Edition / First Printing

£14.99

The Slow Regard of Silent Things: A Kingkiller Chronicle Novella

by Patrick Rothfuss

 

Synopsis

The University, a renowned bastion of knowledge, attracts the brightest minds to unravel the mysteries of enlightened sciences like artificing ... read more

 

Release 06 November 2014

Publisher Gollancz

ISBN 978-1473209329

Coming Soon
Top Sellers
Gabriel's Clock

UK First Edition / First Printing

Signed by the author

£12.99

Gabriel's Clock - SIGNED & PUBLICATION DATED

by Hilton Pashley

 

Synopsis

An exciting new fantasy voice - perfect for fans of Jonathan Stroud.   Jonathan is in terrible danger. After his home is attacked b... read more

 

Release 03 October 2013

Publisher Andersen Press

ISBN 978-1849395786

God of Vengeance, Giles Kristian, signed first edition

UK First Edition, Signed and Lined by the author

£24.99

God of Vengeance

by Giles Kristian

 

Synopsis

Norway AD785. A land of petty kingdoms and ambitious men . . . When King Gorm betrays Jarl Harald and puts his family to the sword, he makes... read more

 

Release 24 April 2014

Publisher Bantam Press

ISBN 978-0593066188

The Vanishing Witch - Exclusive Limited Edition (350 copies)

Exclusive to Goldsboro Books, Signed & Numbered First Edition (350) copies

£45.00

The Vanishing Witch - Exclusive Special Limited Edition (350 copies) - AUGUST 2014 BOOK OF THE MONTH

by Karen Maitland

 

Synopsis

A beautiful Goldsboro exclusive edition of only 350 copies.    Take one wealthy merchant. Add one charming widow. And one... read more

 

Release 01 August 2014

Publisher Headline

ISBN 978-1472215000

We accept Maestro We accept Mastercard We accept Solo We accept Visa We accept Visa Electron We accept PayPal
  • ©2014. Goldsboro Books Ltd. All rights reserved. | Website design by Empire Elements Ltd.