Buy. Read. Collect.

UK's largest specialist in first edition, signed books. Located in
the world famous Cecil Court.


Join Our Mailing List

Privacy by SafeSubscribe TM

Book Details

The Finkler Question - MAN BOOKER PRIZE WINNER 2010

UK First Edition / First Printing

Signed & Dated by the author.

£100.00

The Finkler Question - MAN BOOKER PRIZE WINNER 2010

Author: Howard Jacobson

Price: £100.00

Published by: Bloomsbury

Date Available: 02 August 2010

All of our books have clear protective, removable film on the dustwrapper and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition

 

Details

 

Synopsis

 

MAN BOOKER PRIZE WINNER 2010 !!!

 

He should have seen it coming. His life had been one mishap after another. So he should have been prepared for this one'. Julian Treslove, a professionally unspectacular and disappointed BBC worker, and Sam Finkler, a popular Jewish philosopher, writer and television personality, are old school friends. Despite a prickly relationship and very different lives, they've never quite lost touch with each other - or with their former teacher, Libor Sevick, a Czechoslovakian always more concerned with the wider world than with exam results. Now, both Libor and Finkler are recently widowed, and with Treslove, his chequered and unsuccessful record with women rendering him an honorary third widower, they dine at Libor's grand, central London apartment. It's a sweetly painful evening of reminiscence in which all three remove themselves to a time before they had loved and lost; a time before they had fathered children, before the devastation of separations, before they had prized anything greatly enough to fear the loss of it. Better, perhaps, to go through life without knowing happiness at all because that way you had less to mourn? Treslove finds he has tears enough for the unbearable sadness of both his friends' losses. And it's that very evening, at exactly 11:30pm, as Treslove hesitates a moment outside the window of the oldest violin dealer in the country as he walks home, that he is attacked. After this, his whole sense of who and what he is will slowly and ineluctably change. "The Finkler Question" is a scorching story of exclusion and belonging, justice and love, ageing, wisdom and humanity. Funny, furious, unflinching, this extraordinary novel shows one of our finest writers at his brilliant best.  

Additional Information

Cover Type: Hardback

ISBN: 9781408808870

Also from this Author

Peeping Tom

Peeping Tom

Redback

Redback

People who ordered this also ordered...

I Am Number Four -  Signed, Numbered & Slipcase Edition - Exclusive to Goldsboro Books

I Am Number Four - Signed, Numbered & Slipcase Edition - Exclusive to Goldsboro Books

The Distant Hours - Exclusive Numbered Edition

The Distant Hours - Exclusive Numbered Edition

The Facility - JANUARY 2011 BOOK OF THE MONTH, NUMBERED EDITION

The Facility - JANUARY 2011 BOOK OF THE MONTH, NUMBERED EDITION

Snowdrops - Exclusive Numbered Edition - SHORTLISTED FOR BOOKER 2011

Snowdrops - Exclusive Numbered Edition - SHORTLISTED FOR BOOKER 2011

FROZEN MOMENT, Signed, lined & dated UK 1st edition

FROZEN MOMENT, Signed, lined & dated UK 1st edition

15 Miles

15 Miles

Three Seconds

Three Seconds

The Reapers Are The Angels

The Reapers Are The Angels

Fall of Giants

Fall of Giants

Acts of Violence

Acts of Violence

The QUANTUM THIEF

The QUANTUM THIEF

The Long Song

The Long Song

Before I Go To Sleep - MAY 2011 BOOK OF THE MONTH - EXCLUSIVE GOLD EDGED EDITION

Before I Go To Sleep - MAY 2011 BOOK OF THE MONTH - EXCLUSIVE GOLD EDGED EDITION

Sanctus - Pre-publication Signed and Dated

Sanctus - Pre-publication Signed and Dated

The Death of Lomond Friel

The Death of Lomond Friel

Pulse

Pulse

Started Early, Took My Dog

Started Early, Took My Dog

Ten Little Herrings

Ten Little Herrings

 
Coming soon
Top Sellers
The Oversight, Charlie Fletcher, signed first edition

Signed by the author

UK First Edition / First Printing

£14.99

The Oversight

by Charlie Fletcher

 

Synopsis

Only five still guard the borders between the worlds. Only five hold back what waits on the other side.   Once the Oversight, ... read more

 

Release 14 May 2014

Publisher Orbit

ISBN 978-0356502892

Barbarians, Tim Glencross, signed first edition

Signed by the author

UK First Edition / First Printing

£14.99

Barbarians

by Tim Glencross

 

Synopsis

It is 2008, late capitalism is in crisis, and the great and the good are gathered at an Islington house party. Hosting proceedings are waspish ... read more

 

Release 22 May 2014

Publisher John Murray

ISBN 978-1444788525

Sisters of Treason, Elizabeth Fremantle, signed first edition

UK First Edition / First Printing

Signed by the author

£14.99

Sisters of Treason

by Elizabeth Fremantle

 

Synopsis

Sisters of Treason is a powerful and moving story of passion and peril in Tudor England, perfect for fans of Hilary Mantel.   Mary ... read more

 

Release 22 May 2014

Publisher Michael Joseph

ISBN 978-0718177089

Coming Soon
Top Sellers
Red Runs the Helmand

UK First Edition, Signed, Lined & Dated by the author

£18.99

Red Runs the Helmand - SIGNED, LINED & DATED

by Patrick Mercer

 

Synopsis

Set in the 1870s, this is a gripping adventure in which Mercer brilliantly reenacts the lives of soldiers in the Second Anglo-Afghan War. A... read more

 

Release 28 April 2011

Publisher Harper Collins

ISBN 978-0-00-730275-8

Imperial Fire, Robert Lyndon, signed first edition

UK First Edition / First Printing

Signed & Dated by the author.

£18.99

Imperial Fire

by Robert Lyndon

 

Synopsis

In the world after 1066, vast empires clamour for dominance. From the Normans in the north to the Byzantines in the south, battles rage acro... read more

 

Release 09 January 2014

Publisher Sphere

ISBN 978-1847444998

The Bees, Laline Paull, signed first edition

UK First Edition / First Printing

Exclusive to Goldsboro Books, Signed & Numbered First Edition (250) copies.

£35.00

The Bees - Exclusive slipcase edition

by Laline Paull

 

Synopsis

‘The Handmaid’s Tale’ meets ‘The Hunger Games’ in this brilliantly imagined debut. Born into the lowest class ... read more

 

Release 08 May 2014

Publisher Harper Collins

ISBN 978-0007557721

We accept Maestro We accept Mastercard We accept Solo We accept Visa We accept Visa Electron We accept PayPal
  • ©2014. Goldsboro Books Ltd. All rights reserved. | Website design by Empire Elements Ltd.