Goldsboro Books Glass Bell Award – Longlist

  • 30.06.17
  • Harry Illingworth

We are delighted to share with you the longlist for the inaugural Goldsboro Books Glass Bell Award for Contemporary Fiction!

The Goldsboro Books Glass Bell Award is a new annual award worth £2,000 that celebrates contemporary fiction. The prize is for a novel written in English and published the previous year in the UK. Open to both established and debut authors, the Award is judged by Managing Director David Headley and the team at Goldsboro Books.

When choosing the winner, the Goldsboro Books team are looking for a novel that is compelling, possesses brilliant characterisation with a distinct voice that is confidently written and assuredly realised.

The Longlist

The North Water – Ian McGuire (Scribner) Everyone Brave is Forgiven – Chris Cleave (Sceptre) Pendulum – Adam Hamdy (Headline) The Wolf Road – Beth Lewis (Borough Press) My Name is Lucy Barton – Elizabeth Strout (Viking) I See You – Clare Mackintosh (Sphere) Dark Matter – Blake Crouch (Macmillan) The Sport of Kings – C.E. Morgan (Fourth Estate) The Underground Railroad – Colson Whitehead (Fleet) Anatomy of a Soldier – Harry Parker (Faber) My Name is Leon – Kit de Waal (Viking) Sleeping Giants – Sylvain Neuvel (Michael Joseph) All the Birds in the Sky – Charlie Jane Anders (Titan)

The shortlist will be announced on 1st September 2017

The winner will be announced on 28th September 2017