• Signed by the Author
  • Hardcover
  • UK First Edition, First Printing
Available From 03 February 2022
Category:
Released February 3, 2022
ISBN 978-0861543229

£16.99

'Spectacular' Lisa See, author of The Island of Sea Women


'I loved it' Brandon Hobson, author of The Removed


'Unforgettable' Nguyễn Phan Quế Mai, author of The Mountains Sing


An expansive epic spanning the turbulent decades of Korea's fight for independence, perfect for fans of Min Jin Lee's Pachinko


Beasts take many shapes...


It is 1917, and Korea is yet to be divided into north and south. With the threat of famine looming, a young girl named Jade is sold by her family to Miss Silver's courtesan school in cosmopolitan Pyongyang, an act of desperation that will cement her place in the lowest social status. But the city's days as a haven are numbered.


Jade flees to Seoul where she forms a deep friendship with an orphan boy called JungHo, who scrapes together a living begging on the streets. As Jade becomes a sought-after performer with unexpected romantic prospects, JungHo is swept up in the revolutionary fight for independence. Soon Jade must decide between following her own ambitions, or risking everything for the one she loves.


From the perfumed chambers of the courtesan school to the glamorous cafes of a modernising Seoul, the unforgettable characters of Beasts of a Little Land unveil a world where friends become enemies and enemies become saviours, where heroes are persecuted and beasts take many shapes.

Professionally Packed

All of our books that a have dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.

Juhea Kim

We do not currently have a bio for Juhea Kim

» See more books by Juhea Kim

Professionally Packed

All of our books that a have dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.