Life Ruins
Life Ruins
ISBN
978-1471175909
Released
February 7, 2019
Publisher
Simon & Schuster
  • Signed by the Author
  • Hardcover
  • UK First Edition, First Printing
Category: Crime
AVAILABLE FROM
14 February 2019
Goldsboro Books Promo
Recommended by Goldsboro Books
Goldsboro Books Promo
Recommended by Goldsboro Books
About

How can you save someone else... when you can't even save yourself? Coffin Road meets Abattoir Blues in this gripping crime thriller set on the bleak Yorkshire coast.

A body, briefly glimpsed at the bottom of an abandoned mineshaft, vanishes when the police investigate. Jared, recovering from an almost fatal injury and addicted to painkillers, knows he saw something terrible in that mine… but he has no evidence, and fears he’s losing his grip on reality.


A girl is attacked so savagely she can’t be identified, and dumped late at night in an isolated campground. She’s alive, but only just. Becca, tossed out of university and just let go from her dead-end job, is certain she knows who the victim is. But no one will believe her, and she can hardly even trust herself.


Kay, recently widowed and coming to terms with life on her own, suddenly finds herself forced to get involved. For years she and her husband fostered difficult children – including Becca, whom trouble follows like a stray puppy. And now Becca seems to be in the worst trouble of her life.


And then Jared and Becca meet. Becca, strong-minded and fiercely independent, is confident they can figure out what’s going on. She pulls Kay into the mix, knowing they’ll need all the help they can get…because the police don’t believe them. And more girls are vanishing.


Separately, Kay, Becca and Jared believe their lives have hit rock bottom. But drawn together under extraordinary circumstances, they’ll discover the strength to fight back… and ultimately rebuild their lives from the ruins.


Set amidst the bleak landscape of the east Yorkshire coast, LIFE RUINS combines haunting landscapes that will appeal to readers of PETER MAY and ANN CLEVES with the thoughtful, internal crime writing of DENISE MINA in a new and unforgettable novel.

* * * Praise for LIFE RUINS * * *

'A powerful, thought-provoking story, which perfectly evokes the bleak Yorkshire landscape. Danuta’s crystal clear writing, whip-smart plotting and great characterisation make the book a vital read for any crime fan' Kate Rhodes, author of Hell Bay


'Life Ruins has all the elements I love in a novel - complex characters, an insidious underlying menace, and haunting landscapes. This dark story will suck you in from the first page' Stephen Booth, author of Fall Down Dead

'Explores real issues, from the perspective of real, damaged people, and told with a real warmth and understanding. Danuta Kot raises the bar for all crime writers' Michael Jecks, author of Pilgrim's War

All of our books that a have dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.