Revenger - Signed, Lined, Dated & Doodled

Revenger - Signed, Lined, Dated & Doodled

  • Signed, Lined & Dated
  • Hardcover
  • UK First Edition, First Printing
Category:
Tags:
Released April 29, 2010
ISBN 9781848540835

£200.00

For fans of CJ Sansom and SJ Parris, REVENGER is the second in Rory Clements' acclaimed and bestselling John Shakespeare series of Tudor spy thrillers. Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, 'does for Elizabeth's reign what CJ Sansom does for Henry VIII's' Sunday Times


1592. England and Spain are at war, yet there is peril at home, too. The death of her trusted spymaster Sir Francis Walsingham has left Queen Elizabeth vulnerable. Conspiracies multiply.


The quiet life of John Shakespeare is shattered by a summons from Robert Cecil, the cold but deadly young statesman who dominated the last years of the Queen's long reign, insisting Shakespeare re-enter government service. His mission: to find vital papers, now in the possession of the Earl of Essex.


Essex is the brightest star in the firmament, a man of ambition. He woos the Queen, thirty-three years his senior, as if she were a girl his age. She is flattered by him - despite her loathing for his mother, the beautiful, dangerous Lettice Knollys who presides over her own glittering court - a dazzling array of the mad, bad, dangerous and disaffected.


When John Shakespeare infiltrates this dissolute world he discovers not only that the Queen herself is in danger - but that he and his family is also a target. With only his loyal footsoldier Boltfoot Cooper at his side, Shakespeare must face implacable forces who believe themselves above the law: men and women who kill without compunction. And in a world of shifting allegiances, just how far he can trust Robert Cecil, his devious new master?

Book Condition & Notes

A fine book in a fine dust jacket. Signed, lined and dated by the author on the title page, with an additional doodle of a bloody dagger.


Professionally Packed

All of our books that a have dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.

Rory Clements

Rory Clements is the bestselling author of the Tom Wilde series of mid-20th century historical spy thrillers and the John Shakespeare series set in Elizabethan England. He has won the Crime Writers' Association Historical Fiction Award twice - in 2010 for Revenger and in 2018 for Nucleus. He lives and works in an ancient farmhouse in quiet rural Norfolk, England. Find out more at www.roryclements.co.uk

» See more books by Rory Clements

Book Condition & Notes

A fine book in a fine dust jacket. Signed, lined and dated by the author on the title page, with an additional doodle of a bloody dagger.


Professionally Packed

All of our books that a have dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.