Sidney Chambers and The Persistence of Love (Grantchester 6)

Sidney Chambers and The Persistence of Love (Grantchester 6)

  • Signed by the Author
  • Hardcover
  • UK First Edition, First Printing
Tags:
Released May 4, 2017
ISBN 9781408879023

£45.00

The sixth book in the James Runcie's much-loved series, adapted for ITV's Grantchester which stars James Norton as Sidney Chambers. Perfect for fans of M. C. Beaton.


It is May 1971 and the Cambridgeshire countryside is bursting into summer. Archdeacon Sidney Chambers is walking in a bluebell wood with his daughter Anna and their ageing Labrador Byron when they stumble upon a body. Plunged into another murder investigation, Sidney discovers a world of hippies and psychedelic plants, where permissive behaviour seems to hide something darker.


This is the first of many disturbing secrets that Sidney unearths beneath the tranquil surface of the diocese: a celebrated photographer is accused of rape; a priceless religious text vanishes from a Cambridge college; the authentication of a lost masterpiece proves a slippery business; and Sidney's own nephew goes missing.


Endeavouring to fit in his clerical duties around sleuthing, Sidney continues to reflect on the divine mysteries of love, life and faith, while wrestling with the earthly problems of parish scandals, a progressive new secretary, the challenges of parenthood, and a great loss.

Professionally Packed

All of our books that a have dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.

James Runcie

James Runcie is a British novelist, documentary film-maker, television producer and playwright. He is Commissioning Editor for Arts on BBC Radio 4, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, and a visiting professor at Bath Spa University.

Runcie has written the novels Canvey Island, The Discovery of Chocolate, The Colour of Heaven and East Fortune. In 2012, the publication of Sidney Chambers and the Shadow of Death drew a favourable critical reception. The book, which consists of six short standalone mysteries, is the first in a series of six works of detective fiction, entitled The Grantchester Mysteries.

Runcie is published by Bloomsbury Publishing. His sleuth novels have been adapted as an ITV drama titled Grantchester. Filmed on location in Grantchester, Cambridge and London, the initial six-part series was shown in the UK in Autumn 2014. The second to fifth series were broadcast respectively in 2016, 2017, 2019, and 2020.

Runcie also writes lifestyle pieces about family and literature for major UK newspapers.

» See more books by James Runcie

Professionally Packed

All of our books that a have dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.