Sleeping giants
Book of the Month: April 2016
Signed & Numbered
UK First Edition, First Printing




Publication Date: April 21st, 2016
ISBN: 9780718181680
Publisher: Michael Joseph
Hardcover
  • Limited Edition
  • Sprayed Edges
Only 750 Copies

£129.99

Out of stock

Categories / Tags:
Why we chose this...
Often we are told that a book is 'impossible to put down' but in this case we might just have found one where this is actually true... When we started reading this we very quickly knew that there would be no way to stop and in one heart-stopping session we finished. This is blockbuster science fiction of the highest order. It is originally and inventively told, drawing comparisons to books such as World War Z and The Martian. It is fresh, witty and although the scope of the story is huge, it is emotional on many personal levels. With a film already in the works, this debut and first of a series, will be a bestseller the world over is a must own book for any book lover. T'he overall story unfolds easily... and quickly draws the reader... but it is a very different experience than a standard third- or first-person narrative' (SAN FRANCISCO BOOK REVIEW) 'This stellar début novel...masterfully blends together elements of sci-fi, political thriller and apocalyptic fiction.' (KIRKUS REVIEWS (STARRED REVIEW)

Why not join our book of the month club for more great choices delivered to you each month and you will receive 10% off any purchase.

‘Masterfully blends together elements of sci-fi, political thriller and apocalyptic fiction. . . . A page-turner of the highest order.” -KIRKUS REVIEWS

 

An inventive debut in the tradition of World War Z and The Martian

A GIRL NAMED ROSE IS RIDING HER NEW BIKE NEAR HER HOME IN DEADWOOD, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square-shaped hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.

Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved – the object’s origins, architects, and purpose unknown.

But some can never stop searching for answers.

Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top-secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the relic they seek. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unravelling history’s most perplexing discovery-and finally figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?

 

All of our books that a have dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.