The Long, Long Afternoon

The Long, Long Afternoon

  • Signed by the Author
  • Hardcover
  • UK First Edition, First Printing
Available From 11 February 2021
Category:
Released February 4, 2021
ISBN 9781838772260

£14.99

The sunniest places hold the darkest secrets . . .

A stunning debut novel brimming with atmosphere and perfect for fans of Tangerine or Tigers In Red Weather with echoes of Mad Men.


Yesterday, I kissed my husband for the last time . . .


It's the summer of 1959, and the well-trimmed lawns of Sunnylakes, California, wilt under the sun. At some point during the long, long afternoon, Joyce Haney, wife, mother, vanishes from her home, leaving behind two terrified children and a bloodstain on the kitchen floor.


While the Haney's neighbours get busy organising search parties, it is Ruby Wright, the family's 'help', who may hold the key to this unsettling mystery. Ruby knows more about the secrets behind Sunnylakes' starched curtains than anyone, and it isn't long before the detective in charge of the case wants her help. But what might it cost her to get involved? In these long hot summer afternoons, simmering with lies, mistrust and prejudice, it could only take one spark for this whole 'perfect' world to set alight . . .


A beguiling, deeply atmospheric debut novel from the cracked heart of the American Dream, The Long, Long Afternoon is at once a page-turning mystery and an intoxicating vision of the ways in which women everywhere are diminished, silenced and ultimately under-estimated.

Professionally Packed

All of our books that a have dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.

Inga Vesper

We do not currently have a bio for Inga Vesper

» See more books by Inga Vesper

Professionally Packed

All of our books that a have dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.