The Secret Diaries of Charles Ignatius Sancho

The Secret Diaries of Charles Ignatius Sancho

  • Signed & Numbered
  • Hardcover
  • UK First Edition, First Printing
Limited Edition Only 100 Copies
Category:
Released October 6, 2022
ISBN 978-0349702391
Only 100 Copies
Limited Edition

£16.99

Currently out of Stock

'Absolutely loving this . . . A great storyteller and a fabulous actor. Well done, sir!' DAVID HAREWOOD, actor and author of Maybe I Don't Belong Here

'Phenomenal! Highly recommended' MALORIE BLACKMAN, author of Noughts and Crosses

'Sings with the words of a man who survives his struggles, and expresses himself through music, language and love' GRETCHEN GERZINA, author, historian and academic


Meet Charles Ignatius Sancho: his extraordinary story, hidden for three hundred years, is about to be told.

I had little right to live, born on a slave ship where my parents both died. But I survived, and indeed, you might say I did more...

It's 1746 and Georgian London is not a safe place for a young Black man, especially one who has escaped slavery. After the twinkling lights in the Fleet Street coffee shops are blown out and the great houses have closed their doors for the night, Sancho must dodge slave catchers and worse. The man he hoped would help - a kindly duke who taught him to write - is dying. Sancho is desperate and utterly alone.

So how does Charles Ignatius Sancho meet the King, write and play highly acclaimed music, become the first Black person to vote in Britain and lead the fight to end slavery?

It's time for him to tell his story, one that begins on a tempestuous Atlantic Ocean, and ends at the very centre of London life. And through it all, he must ask: born amongst death, how much can you achieve in one short life?

From one of Britain's best-loved actors, Paterson Joseph, comes an utterly captivating and haunting historical novel, telling the true story of a Great Black Briton. Fans of Bridgerton, Hamilton, Jessie Burton and The Confessions of Frannie Langton will adore being led into the heart of Black Georgian London.

'An absolutely thrilling, throat-catching wonder of a historical novel. I read with alternating fascination, dread, hilarity, admiration, sorrow and triumph for a full life rendered with such animation, brilliance and understanding. Told in wonderful prose and with dazzling energy and brilliant panache. Hugely recommended.' Stephen Fry

'I so admire Joseph's verbal imagination which seems to effortlessly bridge the gap between our time and Sancho's. In a huge, warm, real voice, Joseph makes us look at a past world from another perspective. It's terrific.' Dame Harriet Walter, acclaimed actor

'Elegant, moving and vital. What Paterson Joseph does - what every writer of historical fiction yearns to do - is make history fall away so that in every moment we are immersed in a lived life. A stunning debut.' Jess Kidd, author of Things in Jars

Book Condition & Notes

This edition will be embossed and numbered. Please add any number requests in the order notes box at checkout. The deadline for requests is the 4th October 2022 6pm GMT.


Professionally Packed

All of our books that a have dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.

Paterson Joseph

We do not currently have a bio for Paterson Joseph

» See more books by Paterson Joseph

Book Condition & Notes

This edition will be embossed and numbered. Please add any number requests in the order notes box at checkout. The deadline for requests is the 4th October 2022 6pm GMT.


Professionally Packed

All of our books that a have dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.


Journal&Events

Upcoming Events

Join us for a very special evening, celebrating some of the top female writers in crime fiction today. Elly Griffiths, Araminta Hall, Victoria Selman and Ruth Ware wil...

Bestselling author, Gregg Hurwitz, will be talking to journalist Jake Kerridge, in an exclusive pre-publication event for new book, THE LAST ORPHAN, at Goldsboro Books L...