• Signed & Numbered
  • Hardcover
  • UK First Edition, First Printing
Limited Edition Only 250 Copies
Released March 31, 2022
ISBN 978-1472275455
Only 250 Copies
Limited Edition

£25.00

Full of tension and danger... powerfully atmospheric' JENNIFER SAINT

'A beautifully crafted thriller... Breathtaking and bone-chilling' MANDA SCOTT

'Maitland is a superlative historical novelist' REBECCA MASCULL

---


Whispers haunt the walls and treachery darkens the shadows in this captivating historical novel for readers of C.J. Sansom, Andrew Taylor's Ashes of London and Kate Mosse.

Winter, 1607.
A man is struck down in the grounds of Battle Abbey, Sussex. Before dawn breaks, he is dead.

Home to the Montagues, Battle has caught the paranoid eye of King James. The Catholic household is rumoured to shelter those loyal to the Pope, disguising them as servants within the abbey walls. And the last man sent to expose them was silenced before his report could reach London.

Daniel Pursglove is summoned to infiltrate Battle and find proof of treachery. He soon discovers that nearly everyone at the abbey has something to hide - for deeds far more dangerous than religious dissent. But one lone figure he senses only in the shadows, carefully concealed from the world. Could the notorious traitor Spero Pettingar finally be close at hand?

As more bodies are unearthed, Daniel determines to catch the culprit. But how do you unmask a killer when nobody is who they seem?

DANIEL PURSGLOVE BOOK TWO

Book Condition & Notes

If you would like a matching number, please mention it in the comments section at checkout. All number requests must be submitted by 29/03/22 - numbers requested after this date will not be honoured.



Professionally Packed

All of our books that a have dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.

K. J. Maitland

We do not currently have a bio for K. J. Maitland

» See more books by K. J. Maitland

Book Condition & Notes

If you would like a matching number, please mention it in the comments section at checkout. All number requests must be submitted by 29/03/22 - numbers requested after this date will not be honoured.



Professionally Packed

All of our books that a have dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.


Journal&Events

Upcoming Events

Join us for a very special evening, celebrating some of the top female writers in crime fiction today. Elly Griffiths, Araminta Hall, Victoria Selman and Ruth Ware wil...

Bestselling author, Gregg Hurwitz, will be talking to journalist Jake Kerridge, in an exclusive pre-publication event for new book, THE LAST ORPHAN, at Goldsboro Books L...