• Unsigned
  • Hardcover
  • USA First Edition
Category:
Released January 1, 1956

£300.00

Published in French as "La Joie de Vivre".

In Zest for Life Pauline’s parents have died and, aged ten, she comes to live with relatives in the small seaside town of Bonneville in Normandy. The sole inheritor of her parents’ legacy, Pauline’s interests are guarded by a collective of well-intentioned but not very effective souls and it is not long before her fortune is at risk.


Book Condition & Notes

A fine first edition in the original binding. There is a previous owner's ex libris plate pasted inside the front cover. In a good unclipped dust jacket. There are several tears to the front and back cover, and some wrinkling to the top of the front cover. The price has been crossed out with pencil.


Professionally Packed

All of our books that a have dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.

Émile Zola

Émile Zola was a French novelist, playwright, journalist, the best-known practitioner of the literary school of naturalism, and an important contributor to the development of theatrical naturalism.

He was a major figure in the political liberalization of France and in the exoneration of the falsely accused and convicted army officer Alfred Dreyfus, which is encapsulated in the renowned newspaper headline J'Accuse...!

Zola was nominated for the first and second Nobel Prize in Literature in 1901 and 1902.

He is considered to be a significant influence on those writers that are credited with the creation of the so-called new journalism; Wolfe, Capote, Thompson, Mailer, Didion, Talese and others.

Tom Wolfe wrote that his goal in writing fiction was to document contemporary society in the tradition of John Steinbeck, Charles Dickens, and Émile Zola.

» See more books by Émile Zola

Book Condition & Notes

A fine first edition in the original binding. There is a previous owner's ex libris plate pasted inside the front cover. In a good unclipped dust jacket. There are several tears to the front and back cover, and some wrinkling to the top of the front cover. The price has been crossed out with pencil.


Professionally Packed

All of our books that a have dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.